Artisan Coffee School

0207 030 3170


What is the coffee diploma and the points system:

The Coffee Diploma System allows people to choose the education path that most suits their needs. Six different modules exist in different disciplines, each with three levels of qualification, Foundation, Intermediate, and Professional (apart from Introduction to Coffee which is just one level).

For every module you can gain points for each level of qualification taken, and when you have achieved 100 points you will be awarded your overall diploma. It’s your choice on the modules you take to get you 100 points.

INTRODUCTION TO COFFEE: Is an ideal module for anyone who is new to the coffee industry or just has an interest in this wonderful drink. It charts coffee’s journey from its origins in Ethiopia to the major commodity it is today, enjoyed by millions of people around the world. From farming the cherries through drying, roasting, brewing and finally drinking, this module looks at the processes coffee goes through. This half day course also includes a “coffee cupping” which allows you to taste the various flavours coffee has to offer.
10 Points

FOUNDATION: The Foundation level provides a first taste of a particular coffee discipline. A great way to get initial insight into the basic skills in an area and help you decide if you want to go on to learn more. • The Foundation level requires no previous experience. • Courses at this level would be expected to take 1 day.
5 Points

INTERMEDIATE: Suitable for those already working in the area with a firm knowledge of the basic skills. • Experience working in the field is recommended before attempting this level. • Courses at this level would be expected to take a minimum of 1 – 2 days.
10 Points

PROFESSIONAL: The Professional level is suitable for those wanting to pursue specialist knowledge at a high level in the subject. • Success at this level should indicate to employers1 competence to work in this field. • Extensive relevant experience is recommended before attempting this level. Candidates must hold the Intermediate qualification in the module. • Courses at this level would be expected to take a minimum of 2-3 days.
25 Points


What is SCA membership and how does it affect the cost of our courses:

As a member of the Specialty Coffee Association, you will join a growing network of coffee people that spans the globe. SCA members oversee every step of the value chain, from the seeds in the ground to the sip in the cup. Joining means coming together with thousands of other like-minded and dedicated individuals who believe in the same future for specialty coffee that you do. Being a part of the community means that you recognize the importance of collaboration, and are willing and excited to contribute.

How do I become an AST:

Content to appear here soon